DIREKT

Digital reconfig­urable manufacturing...

...of fiber composite components in a resilient manufacturing environment.

Contact

Dr.-Ing. Stefan Carosella

Institute of Aircraft Design / University of Stuttgart

Dr.-Ing. Stefan Carosella is an expert in fibre composite materials and manufacturing processes, as well as group leader for fibre composite technology at the Institute of Aircraft Design, University of Stuttgart.

DIREKT

A new production environment

DIREKT aims at developing a quickly reconfigurable, self-monitoring and sensor-supported production environment for components made of high-performance fiber composites.

Proactive production

Among other things, new, low-waste (target: max. 5% waste) lay-up methods for carbon fiber-based semi-finished products are used, as well as shape-adaptive tools whose geometry is automatically adapted to a digital model. This allows the cost-intensive lightweight material CFRP to be used in a resource-saving manner and new components to be produced directly from the digital workspace without the need to manufacture component-specific molding tools. The concrete goal here is the possibility to realize a new component geometry within one day. The integration of various sensors into the production environment allows the status of the system to be continuously monitored, thus providing early intervention possibilities. Whether errors have occurred in the production process and can be corrected directly, if necessary, is to be determined by direct data analysis near the data source (edge/fog computing), without time-consuming data transfers to the cloud. The characteristics of a complex production environment, to react robustly to disturbances and thus always work in an optimal range, is also called resilience. In the long term, a combination of digital production technology and shape-adaptive, automated manufacturing processes can be expected to significantly reduce product costs by at least 50% for small to medium quantities. This enables the production of customized components, short-term adjustments of the component geometry and the use of the lightweight material CFRP in a wide range of applications.

Leverage through links with collaborative projects

In terms of content, the project is closely linked to the joint projects of ARENA2036 in order to create a leverage effect:

The Digital Fingerprint project aims to establish an open data architecture of components along their entire life cycle. DIREKT is linked to the project via the use of data semantics for processing process- and product-specific component data.

The goal of the FlexCAR project is to build an open vehicle platform. DIREKT wants to implement demonstrator components and thus forms the link to FlexCAR.

Fluid Production wants to build a anthropocentric, cyperphysical production concept. DIREKT will be linked to FluPro via intelligent and fluid resource modules.

Expected results from DIREKT

Five precisely expected results were defined for the focus project:

  1. A virtual engineering environment for the flexible production system
  2. A system-enabled learning production system for the resilient production of high-performance fibre composites
  3. Three validated demonstrators
  4. Profitability, production concepts, strategies & scenarios of the future
  5. Implementation strategies and application scenarios of flexible production systems

DIREKT

Digital-rekonfigu­rierbare Herstellung...

...von Faserverbundbauteilen in einer resilienten Produktionsumgebung.

DIREKT

Eine neue Produktionsumgebung

Das Projekt DIREKT hat zum Ziel, eine schnell rekonfigurierbare, sich selbst überwachende und sensorisch gestützte Produktionsumgebung für Komponenten aus Hochleistungs-Faserverbundwerkstoffen zu erarbeiten.

Proaktive Produktion

Hierfür kommen unter anderem neue, verschnittarme (Ziel: max. 5% Verschnitt) Legeverfahren für kohlenstofffaserbasierte Halbzeuge zum Einsatz, sowie formadaptive Werkzeuge, deren Geometrie sich automatisiert an ein digitales Modell anpasst. Dadurch kann das kostenintensive Leichtbaumaterial CFK ressourcenschonend eingesetzt und neue Bauteile auf direktem Weg aus dem digitalen Arbeitsraum heraus produziert werden, ohne die Notwendigkeit einer Herstellung bauteilspezifischer Formwerkzeuge. Das konkrete Ziel hierbei ist die Möglichkeit zur Realisierung einer neuen Bauteilgeometrie innerhalb eines Tages. Die Integration verschiedener Sensoren in die Produktionsumgebung erlaubt es dabei, den Zustand des Systems kontinuierlich zu überwachen und so frühzeitige Interventionsmöglichkeiten zu bieten. Ob Fehler im Produktionsprozess erfolgt sind und ggf. direkt korrigiert werden können, soll durch eine direkte Datenanalyse in der Nähe der Datenquelle (Edge/Fog Computing), ohne zeitaufwändige Datentransfers in die Cloud erfolgen. Die Eigenschaften einer komplexen Produktionsumgebung, dabei robust auf Störungen zu reagieren und so stets in einem optimalen Bereich zu arbeiten, wird auch als Resilienz bezeichnet. Langfristig ist durch eine Kombination aus digitaler Produktionstechnologie und formadaptiven, automatisierten Herstellungsverfahren eine deutliche Reduktion der Produktkosten bei kleinen bis mittleren Stückzahlen von mindestens 50% zu erwarten. Dies ermöglicht die Fertigung kundenindividueller Bauteile, kurzfristige Anpassungen der Bauteilgeometrie und die Nutzung des Leichtbauwerkstoffes CFK in einem breiten Anwendungsspektrum.

Hebelwirkung durch Verknüpfung mit Verbundprojekten

Das Projekt ist inhaltlich eng mit den Verbundprojekten von ARENA2036 verknüpft, um eine Hebelwirkung zu erzeugen:

Das Projekt Digitaler Fingerabdruck hat zum Ziel, eine offenen Datenarchitektur von Bauteilen entlang ihres gesamten Lebenszyklus aufzubauen. DIREKT wird mit dem Projekt verknüpft über die Nutzung der Datensemantik zur Verarbeitung der prozess- und produktspezifischen Bauteildaten.

Das Ziel des Projekts FlexCAR ist, eine offene Fahrzeugplattform aufzubauen. DIREKT will Demonstratorbauteilen umsetzen und bildet hierüber die Verbindung zu FlexCAR.

Fluide Produktion will ein menschzentriertes, cyperphysisches Produktionskonzept aufzubauen, DIREKT wird mit FluPro über intelligente und fluide Betriebsmittelmodule verknüpft.

Erwartete Ergebnisse von DIREKT

Es wurden fünf konkret erwartete Ergebnisse für das Fokusprojekt definiert:

  1. Eine virtuelle Engineering-Umgebung für das flexible Produktionssystem
  2. Systemfähig lernendes Produktionssystem für die resiliente Produktion von Hochleistungs-Faserverbundwerkstoffen
  3. Drei validierte Demonstratoren
  4. Wirtschaftlichkeit, Produktionskonzepte, -strategien & -szenarien der Zukunft
  5. Einführungsstrategien und Anwendungsszenarien der flexiblen Produktionssysteme