GrantSLAM

Selective Laser Melting Process Optimization.

Additive manufacturing creates solutions for customer-specific production

GrantSLAM

Generic parts research and transfer – Selective Laser Melting

Within the GrantSLAM project, the holistic process of Selective Laser Melting (SLM) from the three relevant research disciplines of materials, design, and process engineering is being investigated.

The process chain of additive manufacturing

The interdisciplinary cooperation of the different institutes (IFSW, IKTD, IMWF, IFKB & IFB) allows to bundle the core competences target-oriented to the project. In this way, the SLM process is optimized for production.

The objectives of the GrantSLAM project are the extended functionalization of SLM-manufactured components, the generation of reproducible component qualities and their solution of process, material, and design limitations through the interaction of the three research foci:

  • Process (ProSLAM (IFSW & IFKB)
  • Material (MatSLAM (IMWF & IFKB))
  • Construction (Design4SLAM (IKTD &IFB))

"I like working in ARENA2036 because here I can promote the interlocking of digitization and additive manufacturing technologies in the context of Industry 4.0. For this we use digital infrastructures and the selective laser melting process to provide manufacturing processes of the future. The goal is the cost-effective and customized production of components in lightweight construction in combination with a purposefully planned micro- and nanostructure designed for specific applications. This enables an efficient and environmentally friendly use of available resources and the exploitation of the manufacturing potentials of additive manufacturing."

Saeid Sajadi


Expert on materials technology

Institute for Materials Testing, Materials Science and Strength of Materials, University of Stuttgart

GrantSLAM

Selective Laser Melting Process Optimization.

Additive Fertigung bildet Lösungen für die kundenspezifische Produktion

GrantSLAM

Generic parts research and transfer – Selective Laser Melting

Im Rahmen des Projektes GrantSLAM wird der ganzheitliche Prozess des Selective Laser Meltings (SLM) aus den drei maßgeblichen Forschungsdisziplinen Werkstoff-, Konstruktions- und Prozesstechnik erforscht.

Die Prozesskette der Additiven Fertigung

Die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit der unterschiedlicher Institute (IFSW, IKTD, IMWF, IFKB & IFB) ermöglicht es, die Kernkompetenzen zielgerichtet auf das Projekt zu bündeln. Auf diese Weise wird das SLM-Verfahren für die Fertigung optimiert.

Die Ziele des GrantSLAM Projektes sind die erweiterte Funktionalisierung SLM-gefertigter Bauteile, die Erzeugung reproduzierbarer Bauteilqualitäten und das Lösen von Prozess-, Werkstoff- und Konstruktionslimitierungen durch die Interaktion der drei Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Prozess (ProSLAM (IFSW & IFKB))
  • Material (MatSLAM (IMWF & IFKB))
  • Konstruktion (Design4SLAM (IKTD &IFB))

„Ich arbeite gerne in der ARENA2036, weil ich hier die Verzahnung von Digitalisierung und Additiver Fertigungstechnologien im Kontext der Industrie 4.0 vorantreiben kann. Hierfür nutzen wir digitale Infrastrukturen und das Verfahren des Selektiven Laserschmelzens um Fertigungsverfahren der Zukunft bereitzustellen. Ziel ist die kostengünstige und maßgeschneiderte Produktion von Bauteilen in Leichtbauweise, im Zusammenspiel mit einer zielgerichtet geplanten und auf den spezifischen Anwendungsfall ausgelegten Mikro- und Nanostruktur. Dies ermöglicht einen effizienten und umweltschonenden Einsatz der zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen und die Ausnutzung der fertigungs-technischen Potentiale der Additiven Fertigung.“

Saeid Sajadi


Experte für Werkstofftechnik

Institut für Materialprüfung, Werkstoffkunde und Festigkeitslehre (IMWF)