Trafo-Hub-

WH

Transformation hub for the automotive wiring harness value chain.

Contact

Georg Schnauffer

ARENA2036 e.V.

 

Transformation hub for the wire harness

Support for transformation processes in the wiring harness industry

The Trafo-Hub-LS combines results from research with the practical needs of the wire harness industry. The conceptual basis is an end-to-end transfer model that captures the needs of the companies and guides them step by step to the implementation of lighthouse projects.

Bridge and hub function

The core element is the application perspective of the Trafo-Hub-LS. The Hub looks at research and development (R&D) projects and other sources of innovation through the eyes of an industry expert rather than as a scientist. One focus of examination is on the ongoing projects at KoPa 35c. However, the consideratio also goes beyond this. The Trafo-Hub-LS translates project results into messages and use cases that are understandable and relevant to the industry. In addition, the Hub has direct contacts to the companies, so that it can identify concrete implementation potential in dialog and provide important decision-making support for implementation. In this context, the Hub pursues a bridging and a hub function. This means that relevant results from R&D are not only transferred into practice, but there is also an active feedback channel.

The conceptual basis is an end-to-end transfer model. It is based on an adapted AIDA approach, at the end of which there are concrete implementation activities by the companies. In the course of the project, the Trafo-Hub-LS aims to expand the target group in the direction of the electrical and electronics (E/E) domain. Likewise, close cooperation with other hubs such as powertrain and interior will be sought, as these are inseparable from the on-board network.

Wiring harness industry in transition

The wiring harness, also often referred to as "cable harness", "cable set" or "on-board network", connects all electrical and electronic components (drives, actuators, sensors, displays, control units, energy sources, etc.) in the vehicle. It is one of the most expensive and labor-intensive components of the automobile. For German automotive manufacturer (OEMs) alone, several hundred thousand jobs in the supplier industry worldwide depend on this component. However, overriding trends in the automotive sector as a whole and various component-specific developments are now forcing all players in the value chain to undertake far-reaching transformations and reassess all value creation processes. The core challenges of the value chain lineset are in particular:

  • Highly integrated functions due to the rapidly growing complexity of vehicle electrics
  • Electrification of the powertrain (electromobility)
  • Rising data rates and increased requirements for functional safety. These are the essential prerequisites for autonomous driving at levels 4 and 5
  • Increasing automation and digitization of all production and processing operations
  • The acceleration of miniaturization in wires and components of the vehicle electrical system
  • Increased quality requirements and audit-proof traceability of all process steps
  • Resilience of the value chain, such as production at the OEM on site
  • Circular economy and new materials for sustainability (REACH)
  • Determination and reduction of the CO2 footprint across the value chain

The wiring harness must be understood and approached as an integrative total system involving every E/E component. For many companies, how well these challenges can be met depends on faster and better access to innovation impulses and new approaches to solutions. This applies in particular to the disruptive developments in the areas of digitalization and electrification.

Bridging the "Valley of Death"

The claim of the Trafo-Hub-WH is to bridge the "valley of death" between research and practice. This system-immanent "predetermined breaking point" of many R&D projects results from the fact that convincing and proven answers to the practical questions are a prerequisite for the later scaling of the implementation. This is where the Trafo-Hub-WH comes in. The following key activities result from the end-to-end transfer approach:

  • Research and contextualized preparation of pre-competitive solution approaches for the transformation needs of the value chain based on a complete systematic requirements survey of the value chain actors, as well as preparation of the findings from workshops, studies, surveys, interviews, etc. One focus is on technology and digitization innovations from ongoing collaborative projects with a high level of application relevance to the value chain.
  • Dissemination and marketing: Generation of awareness and interest in the industry and initiation of the AIDA process with suitable, sequential formats for knowledge transfer such as events, trade press, website, social media, etc., involving established transfer structures (multipliers, cooperations, etc.).
  • Interested companies are introduced to more in-depth transformation projects in smaller groups via low-threshold incubation formats. These transformation projects set the course internally for a longer-term and comprehensive transformation process.
  • At the same time, the added values are communicated. The goal here is to initiate lighthouse projects. These serve to generate follow-up effects and to build up network structures (communities of practice), which can then be used to ensure a transfer to further unsubsidized scaling (stabilization).

Trafo-Hub-

LS

Transformations-Hub für die Wertschöpfungskette des Leitungssatzes im Automobil.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Georg Schnauffer

ARENA2036 e.V.

 

Transformations-Hub für den Leitungssatz

Unterstützung von Transformationsprozessen in der Leitungssatzbranche

Der Trafo-Hub LS verbindet Ergebnisse aus der Forschung und mit den Praxisbedarfen der Leitungssatzbranche. Konzeptionelle Grundlage ist ein Ende-zu-Ende Transfermodell das die Bedarfe der Unternehmen erfasst und sie Schritt für Schritt bis zur Implementierung von Leuchttürmen begleitet.

Brücken- und Drehscheibenfunktion

Kernelement ist die Anwendungsperspektive des Trafo-Hub-LS. Der Hub betrachtet die Forschung und Entwicklungs (FuE)-Projekte und sonstige Innovationsquellen mit den Augen eines Branchenexperten und nicht als Wissenschaftler. Ein Betrachtungsschwerpunkt liegt auf den laufenden Verbundprojekten bei KoPa 35c. Die Betrachtung geht aber auch darüber hinaus. Der Trafo-Hub-LS überführt die Projektergebnisse in für die Branche verständliche und relevante Botschaften und Anwendungsfälle. Zudem verfügt der Hub über direkte Kontakte zu den Unternehmen, so dass er im Dialog konkrete Umsetzungspotenziale aufzeigen und wichtige Entscheidungshilfen für die Implementierung erbringen kann. Der Hub verfolgt dabei eine Brücken- und eine Drehscheibenfunktion. Das bedeutet, dass relevante Ergebnisse aus der FuE nicht nur in die Praxis transferiert werden, sondern es auch einen aktiven Rückkanal gibt.

Konzeptionelle Grundlage ist ein End-to-End Transfermodell. Es basiert auf einem adaptierten AIDA-Ansatz, an dessen Ende konkrete Implementierungsaktivitäten der Unternehmen stehen. Der Trafo-Hub LS strebt im Projektverlauf eine Ausweitung der Zielgruppe in Richtung der Domäne Elektrik und Elektronik (E/E) an. Ebenso wird eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Hubs wie z.B. Antrieb und Interieur angestrebt, da diese untrennbar vom Bordnetz sind.

Leitungssatz-Branche im Wandel

Der Leitungssatz, auch oft als „Kabelbaum“, „Kabelsatz“ oder „Bordnetz“ bezeichnet, verbindet alle elektrischen und elektronischen Komponenten (Antriebe, Aktoren, Sensoren, Displays, Steuergeräte, Energiequellen etc.) im Fahrzeug. Er ist eine der teuersten und arbeitsintensivsten Komponenten des Automobils. Allein für deutsche Automobilhersteller (OEM) hängen weltweit mehrere hunderttausend Arbeitsplätze in der Zuliefererindustrie an dieser Komponente. Inzwischen zwingen übergeordnete Trends im Automobilsektor insgesamt und diverse komponentenspezifische Entwicklungen jedoch alle Akteure der Wertkette zu tiefgreifenden Transformationen und Neubetrachtung aller Wertschöpfungsprozesse. Die Kernherausforderungen der Wertkette Leitungssatz sind insbesondere:

  • Hochintegration von Funktionen durch stark wachsende Komplexität der Fahrzeugelektrik
  • Elektrifizierung des Antriebsstranges (Elektromobilität)
  • Steigende Datenraten und erhöhte Anforderungen an die Funktionale Sicherheit. Diese sind die wesentlichen Voraussetzungen für das autonome Fahren auf Level 4 und 5
  • Die steigende Automatisierung und Digitalisierung aller Produktions- und Verarbeitungsprozesse
  • Forcierung der Miniaturisierung bei Leitungen und Komponenten des Bordnetzes
  • Erhöhte Qualitätsanforderungen und revisionssichere Rückverfolgbarkeit aller Prozessschritte
  • Resilienz der Wertkette wie zum Beispiel die Produktion beim OEM vor Ort
  • Kreislaufwirtschaft und neue Werkstoffe zur Nachhaltigkeit (REACH)
  • Ermittlung und Reduktion des CO2-Fußabdrucks über die Wertkette

Der Leitungssatz muss als integratives Gesamtsystem unter Einbezug jeder E/E-Komponente verstanden und angegangen werden. Wie gut diese Herausforderungen bewältigt werden können, hängt für viele Unternehmen von einem schnelleren und besseren Zugang zu Innovationsimpulsen und neuen Lösungsansätzen ab. Das gilt insbesondere für die disruptiven Entwicklungen in den Bereichen Digitalisierung und Elektrifizierung.

Das „Tal des Todes“ überbrücken

Der Anspruch des Trafo-Hub-LS ist die Überbrückung des “Tal des Todes” zwischen Forschung und Praxis. Diese systemimmanente „Sollbruchstelle“ vieler FuE-Vorhaben ergibt sich daraus, dass überzeugende und erprobte Antworten auf die praktischen Fragen eine Voraussetzung für die spätere Skalierung der Umsetzung sind. An dieser Stelle setzt der Trafo-Hub-LS an. Als seine Kernleistungen ergeben sich aus dem Ende-zu-Ende Transferansatz nachfolgende Arbeitsschwerpunkte:

  • Recherche und kontextualisierte Aufbereitung von vorwettbewerblichen Lösungsansätzen für die Transformationsbedarfe der Wertkette auf Grundlage einer komplettierten systematischen Anforderungserhebung der Wertkettenakteure, sowie Aufbereitung der Erkenntnisse aus Workshops, Studien, Umfragen, Interviews, etc. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf Technologie- und Digitalisierungsinnovationen aus laufenden Verbundvorhaben mit einem hohen Anwendungsbezug zum Leitungssatz.
  • Verbreitung und Vermarktung: Erzeugung von Awareness und Interesse in der Branche und Einleitung des AIDA-Prozesses mit geeigneten, aufeinander aufbauenden Formaten für die Wissensvermittlung wie z.B. Veranstaltungen, Fachpresse, Webseite, Social Media, etc. unter Einbezug etablierter Transferstrukturen (Multiplikatoren, Kooperationen, etc.).
  • Interessierte Unternehmen werden in kleineren Gruppen über niederschwellige Inkubationsformate an tiefergehende Transformationsprojekte herangeführt. Diese Transformationsprojekte stellen unternehmensintern die Weichen für einen längerfristigen und umfassenden Transformationsprozess.
  • Begleitend werden die Mehrwerte kommunikativ aufbereitet. Das Ziel hierbei ist die Initiierung von Leuchtturmprojekten. Diese dienen zur Erzeugung von Nachnutzungseffekten und dem Aufbau von Netzwerkstrukturen (Communities of Practice), über die dann eine Überführung in die weitere ungeförderte Skalierung sichergestellt werden kann (Verstetigung).